The battle of the ‘burbs: part two.

by Tara Emily

Today was the day to get the other side of the story, and talk to the people of the Northside in order to discover if one side was in fact better then the other. No point in fucking around with aimless words, lets get this started.

 

Sean.

First off the mark was Sean. I was pretty excited to see him in baggy jeans – dont get me wrong, I love seeing tight pants on a guy, but it was refereshing to see something a little different. Sean is loving Northside for all its conveniences and for the good shopping. He is rocking out to Glaswegian electronic musician, Rustie. Check out his song After light:

 

Jemimah and Sarah.

I found these two wavy haired ladies Christmas shopping for their loved ones on Brunswick st. Sarah’s song of the moment is Youth Groups cover of Forever Young – she told me that the song got her excited for summer, but when I found the song on Youtube it was like I had completely forgotten how amazing the film clip was; I was absolutely mesmorised.

 

Jemimah is getting excited over Tom Waits’ song, Lucinda. Check it out:

 

Lorraine.

I’m a sucker for English accents, from both guys and girls, so when I met the bubbly Lorraine and her friend Jamey (below) I got pretty excited. While Lorraine has already been to several festivals recently, and is gearing up for Rainbow Serpent early next year, she could not choose a song that she is loving – only those that are poision to her ears. So I give you Adele, who seemed to top Lorraine’s most hated list for the sheer reason of being the most overplayed artist in every country she has visited.

 

Jamey.

Jamey told me that the Northside is amazing for its bohemian culture and vibe…. That, and the pay as you feel restaurant, Lentil and Anything (There is one in Southside too!) Jamey is currently inspired by The Smiths’ song, Ask.

 

Alex.

Alex, the German local, had so much to say about the Northside that I could tell that he seriously loves the place. He loves the independant music scene and that there is always little gigs being played. He also loves the boutique retailers and venues, and most of all he loves that there is always something new to be discovered. He thinks that American punk band, The Unseen is pretty amazing and recommended their song False Hope. Have a listen below:

 

Sarah.

Sarah is a true blue local, the girl has lived and breathed in the area her entrie life. Having grown up in Northside, Sarah barely sees a point in leaving, she studies at the University of Melbourne, She goes out in the area, and she works around the corner. She was so funny about choosing her song, Pass This On By The Knife, because when I mentioned I would be showing a Youtube clip with her photo, she was like, err…. well its a bit strange. Well as far as I am concerned, I love strange. Check it out below.

 

I’m certain that its the absurdity of the cross dressing in the video, but when I was watching the clip I couldn’t stop thinking about Freddy Mercury and the rest of Queen in their clip for I Want to Break Free. Remind yourselves of the amazingness below:

 

Mima.

This cool kid got her amazing pants at Footscray Savers yesterday. I love that she is wearing them with riding boots – the eternal sign of traditional Aussie culture. I want a pair. She perhaps came up with the best answer of the day for why she loves the area, and that is that Northside is, well, home! She is listening to Bill Withers classic song, Use Me. Treat your ears below.

 

So has one side convinced you of their worth? Are you Team South or Team North? For me, the truth is that while I spend many of my waking (and well, sleeping) hours in Southside, both have their charms and quirks that any budding Melbourne kid would want to get in on, and perhaps at the end it all, it depends on what the hell ones friends are doing.

